Displacement, part 3

Dear Sarah,

The reunion has just been completed, and I’m on my way back to Halifax, as I’m writing this note.

As I expected, I don’t think they were entirely happy about my choice in things, and what I’ve decided to do with the way I lead my life. The one thing I will remember most and carry with me from here on out is the looks of boredom and disdain on their faces as I was regaling them with stories of travels abroad, the stories heard, and the possible paths lying clearly before me, all of them revealed without the benefit of science or progress.

Ultimately, it seems to me that to tuck away the things unseen there is a better hiding place away from the ones who have always told us there would be danger around every corner or near every event. It seems to me as well that perhaps I just don’t care any longer about the things I’m doing or about this life I lead, that there might be something else more important to accomplish, to communicate, and to preserve.

Sis, I think it’s high time I got myself back to the people and things that matter most to me. The waters are deep and are about to change.

Until I write again,
Larry.

— 2009 June 20

Leave a Reply

