Displacement, part 4

Dear Renata,

It’s only been a month since I last saw you in Brno, and fact is I miss you terribly. I know how you told me you would be in this part of the world next month, but it’s far too coincidental that your time here in this country would have the right dates, the same duration, but exactly a month after my trip. I’d laugh again if it wasn’t entirely some cosmic joke.

I thought about what you told me on that last night under low-lights and empty bottles of wine between us. Not only did you tell me you were quitting your current job and moving onto teaching colleges elsewhere on the continent, but you were gently poking me about what it was really that excited me, and for whom I would really carry out my particular slice of enthusiasm. I guess you’ve always known it’s come down to making a difficult choice.

Do take care of yourself, and I hope you have a good time in Sydney & Melbourne. Don’t let Matěj push you around too much!

Miluji tě,
Joel.

— 2009 June 29

Leave a Reply

